NC’s Edwards votes to block censure of pro-Hamas Democrat

US Rep. Chuck Edwards’ predecessor, Madison Cawthorn, was subjected to a pounding from Thom Tillis and several PACs over some bad personal-life (and social media) decisions.  Tillis & co. sold Edwards to the 11th district and the rest of North Carolina as a safer, less embarrassing choice than Cawthorn.  Thanks to that — and a lot of illicit PAC money — Edwards won.

Fast forward to this year. We’ve all seen the horrific attacks on Israel by the Gaza-based Hamas terrorists.  The attacks have been condemned worldwide by most all sane, reasonable, civilized people.  Sadly, some American leftists — and their elected leaders — are attempting to justify the blood and gore.

US Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-Michigan) has been one of those elected voices:

Last month, Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.) introduced a resolution to censure Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.) for engaging in “antisemitic activity” and “sympathizing with terrorist organizations.” Since the October 7 terror attacks on Israel by Hamas, Tlaib has been promoting anti-Semitic and pro-Hamas propaganda and undoubtedly deserves punishment.

Had all Republicans supported going forward with the censure, she would have gotten what she deserved. Instead, 22 House Republicans voted with Democrats to table the motion, essentially killing it. 

[…] A majority vote was needed to stop the Tlaib censure, requiring support from both Democrats and some Republicans. Twenty-two Republicans joined the entire Democrat caucus in opposing the Tlaib measure. The House was supposed to vote on the Greene measure afterward, but that was canceled once the Tlaib resolution was blocked.

So which Republicans decided to let Tlaib off the hook for her anti-Semitic and pro-terrorist rhetoric? Via The Hill:

  • Rep. Kelly Armstrong (N.D.) 
  • Rep. Ken Buck (Colo.) 
  • Rep. John Duarte (Calif.) 
  • Rep. Chuck Edwards (N.C.) 
  • Rep. Morgan Griffith (Va.) 
  • Rep. Glenn Grothman (Wis.) 
  • Rep. Harriet Hageman (Wyo.) 
  • Rep. Bill Huizenga (Mich.) 
  • Rep. Darrell Issa (Calif.) 
  • Rep. Dusty Johnson (S.D.) 
  • Rep. Doug LaMalfa (Calif.) 
  • Rep. Thomas Massie (Ky.) 
  • Rep. Tom McClintock (Calif.) 
  • Rep. Richard McCormick (Ga.) 
  • Rep. Max Miller (Ohio) 
  • Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (Iowa) 
  • Rep. John Moolenaar (Mich.) 
  • Rep. Chip Roy (Texas) 
  • Rep. Austin Scott (Ga.) 
  • Rep. Victoria Spartz (Ind.) 
  • Rep. Michael Turner (Ohio) 
  • Rep. Timothy Walberg (Mich.) 

Rep. Derrick Van Orden (Wis.) reportedly voted yes initially by mistake but later changed his vote. Nevertheless, this was a stunning demonstration of the GOP’s lack of a backbone.

“This is why Republicans NEVER do anything to stop the communists Democrats or ever hold anyone accountable!!” Greene said in a post on X. […]

You may notice that Edwards was THE ONLY Republican from North Carolina to vote to block proceeding with the censure motion against Tlaib.  (Edwards’ master, Tillis, was himself censured at the most recent NCGOP state convention.  So, he knows how it feels.)

Perhaps Edwards will defend his move as some kind of brave stance in favor of free speech.  A censure does not send someone to jail.  (Ask Thom.  He’s still free.). It’s an expression of displeasure.  I’d say it’s quite reasonable to express displeasure at someone for defending the rape and mass murder of unarmed non-combatants. 

Rashida Tlaib has gained notoriety in recent years for tagging along with AOC and her fellow US House member pals known as “The Squad.”